Change your activity visibility

Your activity visibility determines who can see your activities on Funkwhale. There are four visibility options:

  • Nobody except me – only you can see your activities.

  • Everyone on this instance – users who have an account on the same pod as you can see your activities.

  • Followers - users who are following you can see your activities.

  • Everyone, across all instances – anybody can see your activities.

To change your activity visibility:

  1. Log in to your account.

  2. Select the cog icon () or your avatar to expand the user menu.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Find Activity visibility in the Account settings section.

  5. Select your visibility level from the slider.

  6. Select Update settings to save your changes.

That’s it! You’ve updated your activity visibility. This change takes effect as soon as you update your settings.

Note

The activities from a Channel are always public. This is what channels where designed for. If you want to publish tracks privately as an artist you should upload them to your account and not to your channel.

Your data

As a user you can produce various activities and their related object, most activities are not saved but are used to ask remote instances to delete or update content (they are not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved into the database for a long time).

Activities objects

Here is the data that a user can request from your account. This data is saved for a long period of time unless you delete it.

  • Actor followers and followings (include channels subscription)

  • Library Followq (when you request access to a playlist files)

  • Listenings

  • Favorites

  • Playlist likes

  • Playlists (has it’s own visibility level)

  • Uploads (has it’s own visibility level)

  • Owned Channels (always public)

Activities

Here is a list of activities you can produce :

  • Following accept : when you accepts a follow request

  • Follower accept : when an account accepts your follow request

  • Playlist create : when you create a playlist

  • Playlist update : when you add tracks or update a playlist

  • Playlist delete : when you delete a playlist (not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved)

  • Listening create : when you listen to a track

  • Listening delete : when you delete a listening (not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved)

  • Track Favorite create : when you like a track

  • Track Favorite delete : when you delete a liked track (not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved)

  • Playlist Favorite create : when you like a track

  • Playlist Favorite delete : when you delete a liked track (not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved)

  • Upload create : when you upload a track to a channel or to your account.

  • Upload delete : when you delete a track (not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved)

  • Update music object (artist, album or track) : when you edit a music object metadata (not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved)

  • Actor update : when you update your public information (not brodcasted to user’s inbox or saved)

  • Actor delete : when you delete your account (we send it to remote instance so they delete your data and we add a Tombstone to avoid impersonnation).

Understand where your data goes

Funkwhale is a federated software. It means data is shared across a network of websites using the same protocol (ActivityPub). When your visibility settings is set to followers data will be send to each follower on their instances. This means your data will leave your own instance to go to your followers instances. If you delete a user from your followers or if you change your activity visibility, your instance should send a request to the remote servers to delete your data. But there is nothing we can do to force it to do so. So when you trust a follower, you’re also trusting his instance.

Other data

Profile information

  • username

  • email

  • password

  • secret key : used to validate or invalidate tokens

  • privacy_level

  • subsonic api token

  • last activity

  • avatar

  • actor : the ActivityPub actor linked to your user

  • settings : other user settings

  • user filters : used to filter out data you don’t want to listen to

  • radios : you custom radios information

  • plugin configurations : to store the configuration of your plugins. Can contain security related data like tokens.

  • blocked actors : the list of actors you block.

  • oauth applications : used to authenticated remote application that can access your Funkwhale data.

Traffic

Funkwhale do not have built-in analytics tools : we don’t analyse your ip address, your screen size or your user-agent. But this data is kept in the reverse proxy logs. This is to allow security analysis. Administrator from your Funkwhale instance may have different policies.